Organic Produce for Monday, May 23

Good morning!

Today’s 2nds are tomatoes, cucumbers and Granny smith apples. I also have some random produce that wasn’t enough to divide like 1 eggplant, 1 dozen lemons, and 3 butternut squash. Please help yourself or e-mail me back if you want me to put something extra in your box. There’s extra tomatoes as well. (The grape tomatoes were not 2nds)

I just discovered a great new raw green soup that I am enjoying.

Here’s the recipe:

1 cucumber
1 avacado
juice of 2 limes
1 handful of greens (so far spinach has been the best)
1t. salt or to taste

Blend in the vitamix. Add enough water to bring the amount to 4 cups. Enough for 4 servings, but I end up drinking the whole thing myself!

Also, if you’re wondering what to do with all of your parsley besides freezing it for soups, I have 2 great quinoa recipes that use lots of parsley

Quinoa tabouleh
1 c. uncooked quinoa (cook according to directions (quinoa must be rinsed well before cooking))
2 cucumber finely chopped
4 tomatoes finely chopped

1 bunch of parsley finely chopped
6 scallions or 1/2 red onion finely chopped
juice of 2 lemons
1/2 c. olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

After quinoa is cool, add the remaining ingredients and mix well. This makes a huge salad, so you may want to 1/2 the recipe

You could also add some purple cabbage since you have some in your box.

Quinoa Salad
1 C quinoa
2 C water
½ C slivered toasted almonds
½ C raisins
½ C chopped scallions
½ C chopped parsley
½ C snap peas cut into ½ in. pieces
½ C balsamic dressing

Balsamic Dressing
⅓ C- olive il
3TB balsamic vinegar
1 TB red wine vinegar
½ tsp brown sugar
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp pepper

Boil water, add rinsed quinoa, reduce heat to low, cover pot and simmer 20”. Remove from heat and fluff. Mix in remaining ingredients when quinoa is cool.

Last week of the session is next week. Based on the response I received, I will have produce ready on Tuesday, May 31st. After that, please enjoy the local (hopefully organic) produce in our area. In addition, there is a good chance that a farmer I met will be coming to my house on Mondays between 5:00-7:00PM with fresh produce. His farm is not certified organic but he practices organic methods, no chemicals. Please let me know if you are interested because the more people I have the more likely he will make the stop. Maybe I’ll see you at my house over the summer if this stop works out. Otherwise, I’ll be contacting you in the fall with information with a schedule for the next session.

Any last requests for next week? I have been trying to get more snow peas but it hasn’t been available. Let me know if you want anything special.

Enjoy!

Toby

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

