Organic Produce for Monday, April 11th

Good afternoon everyone!

Today 2nds are the small apples. The big ones are the regular apples. I hope everyone enjoys using them to make charoset for Passover.
Here’s an approximation of my family’s charoset recipe:

Charoset:
2 cup shredded apples
1 cup ground walnuts
1 t. cinnamon
1/8 t. ginger
1/3 c. Kedem Malaga wine

I say this is an approximation because we usually just dump these ingredients together until we get the right consistency and taste. So feel free to add more or less of whatever you like. You can’t go wrong.

Also, I have a few bags of 2nds celery on the bench by the front door that anyone is welcome to take.

Produce is never consistent as it is a product of nature. So this week’s story is that we hardly have any greens. Sanson’s was completely out of swiss chard and collards. Before I bought the kale, I looked it over and found brown bugs this time. So, instead we have extra fruit. They seemed really low on everything still. There was no cauliflower or spinach either and I could only get one box of mushrooms, which is why everyone only got a few.

The good news is that I got pears again and I thought they were really juicy last week.

Here is my shopping list for next week:

1. romaine lettuce
2. 2 4# bags of spinach if not kale
3. broccoli
4. leeks
5. apples
6. bananas
7. cucumbers
8. red peppers
9. parsley (the curly kind)
10. 2 boxes of asparagus
11. potatoes

I did not talk to anyone today about horseradish for next week. As soon as I know about the horseradish, I will e-mail.

Please bring back any empty boxes you may have. I seem to be running low lately.

Thanks

Toby

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

