Organic produce for Monday, March 14th

Good morning everyone! Today this e-mail is a little late in coming. I let my daughter sleep in because of the time change, so we went to the food terminal later than usual.

Today’s 2nds are apples, grapefruit and red peppers.

The blueberries are better than last week, but I don’t love them. We did not get charged for the berries as they are compensation for last week. I don’t think I’ll do berries again unless I hear feedback otherwise. I chose half blackberries as another option andI put both of those out as a sampler on the extra produce pile, so you can decide which you like better. Strawberries are very good though in late April and May and I will get them then.

I got tomatoes this week because Jimmy (one of the guys at Sanson’s) said they looked really nice and they are. He also said that the red potatoes had just come in. When I opened them though, I found many of them beginning to sprout eyes. I will give him this feed back as well.

I’ve started making an extra produce pile, because I know that some people seem overloaded with vegetables while others can use more. Everyone is welcome to pick something out from the pile. If you are one of the last to pick up and there is a lot left, please take more. Also, if you don’t want something, you can trade it to the extra pile and take 2 things back. I gave all the people who get their vegetables delivered something extra, but you are welcome to e-mail your preference of what you like (ie. greens, fruit etc.). Let me know if you like this idea.

Have a great day! Spring is just around the corner!!

Toby

P.S.
Here’s a new recipe for spinach:

Dairy Free Spinach Dip

5 oz of Fresh, Organic Spinach
1/4 Organic Red Onion (or regular onion or scallion)
3/4 cups organic, unpasteurized almonds (soaked and dehydrated)
0.25 cups organic, really raw cashews (soaked and dehydrated)
2 T of organic, cold-pressed olive oil
3/4 cups water (start with a little less and see if you want a thinner dip)
2.5 T cup of fresh-squeezed lemon juice
1 TBSP Nutritional Flakes
2 garlic cloves
1 tsp sea salt
Optional: 1/2 tsp of psyllim husk (increases thickness of dip)

Preparation:

Chop spinach and red onion and place in mixing bowl.
Put remaining ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.
Combine blender contents in bowl and mix.
Chill for 1-2 hours to increase the dips thickness.
Garnish with chopped red bell pepper for color.

Note: You got about 6.5 oz of spinach in your box, so use about 3/4 of your spinach to make this dip. This is a great dip for all those extra carrots you have in your fridge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

