Organic Produce for Monday, March 7th

Thanks for the positive feedback I’ve been receiving. I appreciate it, because I do my best to balance the variety and quality of produce that I get each week.

If anyone has some good recipes to use up carrots, please post to the group. It seems like I overdid it on the carrots these last few weeks.

Here’s some ideas:

  • If you peel them up, you can take carrots to munch on in the car. In this weather, you can permanently leave them there for a few days without worrying. Whenever I have to many vegetables,
  • I run my juicer, so whoever has a juicer, don’t forget to use it!.
  • Many vegetables can be roasted, even carrots. Slice the carrots into 1/4-1/2" circles (try to make them the same thickness). Toss the penny carrots with olive oil and salt and roast at 350-400, until browned and soft, This will take about an hour and you need to move and flip them every 15 minutes.
  • Whoever has a vitamix can make soups in it and use up carrots that way. Here’s one interesting recipe I found on the vitamix website: Time: 3-4 minutes
    Box_corner-tl.gif spacer.gif Box_corner-tr.gif
    spacer.gif
    « Back to Recipe Search
    print.gif Printable Version
    card.gif Printable 3×5 Card
    Printable 4×6 Card
    7×9 Recipe Book Page
    7×9 Printing Instructions
    email.gif Email to a Friend
    addlist.gif Add to Shopping List
    list.gif View Shopping List
    spacer.gif
    Box_corner-bl.gif spacer.gif Box_corner-br.gif
    4 medium carrots, peeled, halved
    1/4 small onion, peeled
    4 small garlic cloves, peeled
    2 tablespoons (30 ml) oil
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    pinch white pepper
    1 tablespoon fresh ginger root or Ginger Paste
    1/3 cup (70 g) light silken tofu
    2 cups (480 ml) low sodium vegetable or chicken broth
    1. Place carrots, onion and garlic into the Vitamix container and secure lid.
    2. Select Variable 1.
    3. Turn machine on and quickly increase speed to Variable 4 or 5.
    4. Blend for 10 seconds or until chopped.
    5. Heat oil in a small pan and sauté chopped ingredients until onion is clear and carrots are tender. Add a little broth, if needed.
    6. Place remaining ingredients into the Vitamix container, add sauteed ingredients and secure lid.
    7. Select Variable 1.
    8. Turn machine on and quickly increase speed to Variable 10, then to High.
    9. Blend for 3-4 minutes or until heavy steam escapes from the vented lid.
  • Put the carrots in every soup you make

Good luck!

Also, I don’t think the blueberries are good at all. I am e-mailing the people at Sanson’s

Toby
On Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 11:33 AM, Toby Rosenberg <tobysontherun> wrote:

Good morning everyone!

Today’s 2nds are grapefruit, zucchini and cauliflower.

Because of the quantities everyone got either red pepper or broccoli. Also, everyone got either cauliflower, potatos or an extra container of blueberries (except for the couple size (1/2 size) shares).

Last week my mango was not good at all. Did anybody else have better luck? I decided to try some blueberries, since they seem to becoming into season somewhere and the price was reasonable. I am not a big blueberry fan unless I pick them myself. Please provide feedback if these were good or not.

Cucumbers and spinach were not available. Vine tomatoes have become very pricey, so I will take a break from them next week. I always like to something for you to eat with your lettuce salad. If I can’t get cucmbers next week, I may try cherry tomatoes.

We have had a request for matchstick carrots to make preparing salads a little bit easier. The guys at Sanson’s (at the food terminal) are still working on getting me a price. Then I can put in a special order for them in a couple weeks.

Our next section is starting March 28th. It will be 10 weeks long. In addition, because of Passover and Easter, the week of April 25th, I will be getting produce on Wednesday, April 27th. I will be sending the form to fill out in order to continue receiving produce until the end of May.

Enjoy your box!

Toby

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

