November 22nd produce

Good afternoon everyone! I got green beans and cranberries in honor of Thanksgiving this week. Brussel sprouts did not happen because they have not had organic ones.

Chanuka – Organic Latkes (potato pancakes)
Chanuka’s around the corner and I will be offering homemade organic potato latke mix at $20/gal. This is an awesome deal considering that the kosher butchers sell theirs for the same price and it’s not organic! I will also be selling latkes. You can enjoy 6 fresh made latkes (3″ diameter) for $5. I am not hechshered but I do keep a kosher home.

Eggs
Next week I will have eggs from the Geauga Amish farmers at $3/dozen. Some people have placed orders for next week. However, it’s not too late to add on to the order. Just let me know how many dozen you want. The eggs will be coming every other week. The chickens are not specifically organic, but at least they have a real chicken life!

Bags/Containers
If you have any plastic grocery bags or pint/quart size containers from berries or tomatos, I would be happy to take them, so I can separate produce like mushrooms for the group. When you return milk crates to me, you can leave these items too. Thanks!

2nds
This week’s 2nds are acorn squash, oranges and grapefruit.

Division of Produce
Due to the amount of people we have in our group now, not everyone can receive broccoli every week unless enough people would like 2 broccolis/week. In general, I divide the produce as evenly as possible and give people extra of other things if they do not get broccoli. If you don’t want broccoli or if you haven’t gotten broccoli for a while, please let me know and I will put your name on a specific box so I can be sure you will get what you want. Also, a couple people will not get cranberries because they were also not enough in a share. Again, I substituted something for anyone who missed out on cranberries. I tried to make sure that if you missed out on the broccoli, you got cranberries and vice versa. If you are really bummed about the cranberry deal, I can order cranberries for next week even though it will be past Thanksgiving. Let me know. I just want everyone to know that I am trying to be as fair as possible with the constraints that I have.

Green Beans
Green beans come in a huge amount so I will help you with some recipes.

Roasted Green Beans
Trim the green beans. Toss the green beans with enough oil for a light coat and sprinkly with salt. Bake at 400 F for about an hour or until partially browned. Be sure to turn the green beans over every 15-20 minutes.

Traditional Green Bean Casserole with healthier ingredients
Ingredients
3 cups Imagine mushroom soup (It’s pareve and healthier than Campbell’s)2 teaspoons soy sauce1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper8 cups green beans2 2/3 cups French’s® French Fried Onions (or you can brown about 3-4 big sliced onions yourself and add in 1 cup of bread crumbs in the last 15 minutes of browning)
Directions
Stir soup, soy sauce, pepper, beans and 1 1/3 cups onions in 3-qt. casserole.
Bake at 350 degrees F. for 45-60 min. or until green beans are cooked. Stir.
Top with remaining onions. Bake for 5 min. more.

Happy Thanksgiving

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

